Awards and Grants

Hicks Morley Fellowship

Jenny Forestell, Board Chair – GPOP (L); George Vuicic, Partner – Hicks Morley Hamilton Stewart Storie LLP, Ottawa office (C); Denise Amyot, President & CEO, CICan (R)

The Hicks Morley Fellowship has been established in the amount of $1,000.00 per year for a five year period, commencing 2018 through to 2022, and has been created to support the attendance of one GPOP member at our annual conference and AGM, which is held in conjunction with the Colleges and Institutes Canada (CICan)
annual conference. In these times of fiscal restraint, the Hicks Morley Fellowship will enable one of our valued members to attend the GPOP annual conference and AGM and give them the opportunity of connecting with peers, as well as providing a unique personal development opportunity.

Many thanks and appreciation to Hicks Morley for their generosity and support. The Chair would also like to acknowledge (and thank) fellow Director, Cheryl McMurray, for pursuing the idea of a fellowship and making it a reality.

Application deadline:  February 26, 2018

2018 Recipient Shelagh Donnelly, Douglas College (L) with Jenny Forestell, GPOP Board Chair

$500 AGM & Conference Grant Recipients:

2017: Peggy Baldwin, Keyano College

2016: Erin Elliott, Nova Scotia Community College

(The $500 AGM & Conference Grant was replaced with the Hicks Morley Fellowship in 2018.)

Award for Distinguished Service

The Award for Distinguished Service recognizes the significant personal and professional contributions made by a current or past member to the Governance and President’s Office Professionals (GPOP).

Application deadline: February 26, 2018

2017 Recipient Shelagh Donnelly, Douglas College (R) with Jenny Forestell, GPOP Board Chair (L)

Distinguished Service Recipients:

2018 – no award

2017: Shelagh Donnelly, Douglas College

2016 – no award

2015 – Margo Baptista, Grant MacEwan University

Award for Professional Achievement

The Award for Professional Achievement recognizes current and past members who have made significant contributions to the realm of higher education or who have achieved professional success due, in part, to their experiences as a governance and/or president’s office professional.

Application deadline: February 26, 2018

2017 Recipient Cheryl McMurray, Fanshawe College (L) with Jenny Forestell, GPOP Board Chair (R)

Professional Achievement Recipients:

2018 – no award

2017- Cheryl McMurray, Fanshawe College

2016 – Diane Marcellus-Kerr, Lethbridge College

2015 – Joanna Campbell, Okanagan College