About

Welcome to GPOP!
GPOP, an acronym for Governance and President’s Office Professionals, is the shortened version of our formal name, CICan: GPOP/PGBDG.

Collectively, we are an independent national body made up of a network of peers who provide support to the Board or President/CEO of any public college, institution, cégep, university or other organization within the Canadian post-secondary education sector.

In launching our name, ratified in both English and French, we also proudly reflect our alignment with CICan: Colleges and Institutes Canada. Thus, we are CICan: Governance and President’s Office Professionals (GPOP) or, in French, Professionnels de la gouvernance et des bureau des directeurs généraux de CICan (PGBDG).

Please feel welcome to look around our site and if you are interested in learning more about membership, see our Join GPOP page.

UPCOMING EVENTS

CICan GPOP VIRTUAL CONFERENCE 2022: Moving Forward Together

You are invited to join your colleagues this May in two sessions designed to rejuvenate and inspire you to navigate anew following two years of unprecedented change and disruption.

Keynote
Our keynote address, Two-Eyed Seeing, will be an interactive session exploring the value of multiple perspectives as part of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s calls to action. We will discover the role each of us can play in creating a safe and ethical space to learn and work in as we prepare to keep moving forward together. Our guest speaker will be Bruce McKay, a Cree Metis educator who works as the Indigenous Relations and Services Coordinator at Northern Lights College.
Date: May 13, 2022
Time: 9 – 10:30 am Pacific / 11 am – 12:30 pm Central / 12 – 1:30 pm Eastern / 1 – 2:30 pm Atlantic
Registration: Please email gpop.admin@cican.info to receive your link to join.

Roundtable
A highlight of previous conferences has been the opportunity to share best practices and discuss hot topics. Our virtual round-table session will see lively discussion meant to revitalize us as we prepare to proactively support our Presidents and Boards as they lead the way into a fast-moving future.
Date: May 19, 2022
Time: 9 – 10:15 am Pacific / 11 am – 12:15 pm Central / 12 – 1:15 pm Eastern / 1 – 2:15 pm Atlantic
Registration: Please email gpop.admin@cican.info to receive your link to join

We look forward to seeing you at one or both of these sessions, where we can be together in order to move forward.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

TAKE NOTICE that the Annual General Meeting of the members of CICAN GOVERNANCE AND PRESIDENT’S OFFICE PROFESSIONALS (GPOP) will be held virtually via Teams on Tuesday, May 24, 2022, at 9am Pacific/10am Mountain/11am Central/12noon Eastern/1pm Atlantic. 

  1. To receive the following reports as information: Chair’s Report; Executive Committee; Awards & Recognition Committee; Conference Committee; Engagement Committee; Membership Committee; Nominating Committee; Professional Development Committee; and Strategic Planning and Partnerships;
  2. To receive the financial statements;
  3. To approve the GPOP 2022/2023 Board of Directors; and
  4. To approve the updates to the Terms of Reference for GPOP.

Dated April 14, 2022

BY ORDER OF THE BOARD

Heather Martin, Chair

CICan_Network_GPOP_Logo_Acronym

3 thoughts on “About

  1. Janet,

    Welcome aboard! I see from emails yesterday that work is underway on adding you to the listserve, and please consider yourself a member. Am about to send you an email confirming password.

    Cheers,
    Shelagh

  2. Giselle,

    Good morning, and welcome to our national association; please consider your membership confirmed.You’ll see shortly that I’m sending you an email with the listserve address and other info.

    Thanks, too, for your kind comments about the website; much appreciated.

    Will we see you in Ottawa for the PBSN/PNPA AGM and ACCC conference?

    Cheers,
    Shelagh

  3. Michele,

    Hi, and thank you very much for stopping by the site and for your kind words; much appreciated – and you’re most welcome.

    We are all up to our eyeballs right now, but please watch for a draft PBSN/PNPA Terms of Reference (TOR), which will be presented at our AGM later this month in Ottawa.

    Cheers,
    Shelagh